Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hey all!

So, hope everyone is having a great start to their week and had a nice weekend : ) Mine was pretty great! Got my paycheck (woot!), worked all three days, AND had my first day of formal HALF MARATHON training!!!

Whoa whoa whoa, you may be thinking. Yes, I have decided to commit to training and running in the Carlsbad half marathon in January. I am training and fundraising with a group called Jeans For Justice, unique non-profit organization dedicated to ending sexual violence through creative awareness campaigns and cutting-edge education programs. My new roommate is an intern with this program and got me involved. At first, I was very wary of the idea. I mean I’m all for raising money and awareness for a great cause like this, but running?! Voluntarily?! For 12.5 miles?! That didn’t sound like me at all.

But the more I thought about it, the more it seemed like a great thing to pursue. It is a big challenge, not only to train for 3 1/2 months but to also raise a pretty good amount of money, all on top of working, going to school, attempting to keep a social life, etc. But I love a good challenge. And I figure I can only benefit from this! I will get into better shape, as I am being held accountable now for working out so I really am more motivated. I will be raising awareness for such an amazing cause and helping out my local community. I’ll be networking, meeting new people, pushing myself to the extreme, and most excitingly, I will be doing something I’ve never done before! And to say I have completed a half marathon would just be amazing to say the least.

So I had my first day of group training on Saturday morning. It was not easy to wake up at 7 am after working a Friday night to go run a couple miles. But I did it. I met everyone on our Justice in Motion team (that’s what the training program is called).Β  I met our mentors and coaches and everyone there was so kind and inspiring. I’m not surprised since this is all voluntary and we all have to be pretty motivated to do this. Being around all of these like minded people was very refreshing. We did a 40 minute run at a jogging pace along the coast in Encinitas. So beautiful! I was exhausted by the end, but felt happy I had decided to this.

Now I have those practices once a week plus a running schedule I do on my own throughout the week. I also have my own fundraising webpage set up here, that you can all look at, read more about the cause, and even donate if it strikes you. Any little bit counts and I am excited to see my progress bar jump little by little as the weeks and months go by.

Ah…life is good. Whilst I wish I could keep writing on here, homework and studying are calling my name. Back to the school grind tomorrow. Have an amazing week everyone!!! My fundraising link is http://www.stayclassy.org/fundraise?fcid=133073, again, just if you want to spread the info to anyone in your life.

