Tags

, , , , , ,

So today I made some peanut butter cookies from scratch. After I added as much of the peanut butter as I could, while making a mess of course, I gave my dog the spoon to lick. It was the funniest thing in the world to watch. She licked it so clean she could probably see her reflection, and then she kept smacking her lips and rolling her tongue over her nose over and over because it was so sticky, and she had a big dollop of it on her snout. I laughed for about 10 minutes while I watched her. It just lit up my day. And she just kept looking up at me wondering why I was giggling.

I guess I’ve just been thinking so much lately about what it means to be happy, how to pursue and achieve happiness, and how to make it last. And it’s obviously right in front of me, staring at me covered in peanut butter. Or my best friends back home skyping me and us laughing with each other so easily. Or some sweet text messages from my boyfriend that tell me I’m being thought of. It’s my mom showing me a silly and ridiculous youtube video and us laughing over it. I think maybe I’m searching too hard for it when it’s always right next to me.

I’m sure everyone’s life could be tweaked in some way or another, and we all wish we could get everything we wanted and that our worlds were perfect. They aren’t though, maybe that’s the fun in it, or the challenge. Or the simplicity of it. We all have to work with what we got, and not worry so much about what we don’t.

